MBF Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
LADMarines said:
http://www.meancycles.com/Home.asp?...ccCategoryID=2254&CompanyID=0&PartID=0&Event=

What would this do to my bike. I am still learning about these bikes....
It would make it handle like a camel...Yamaha went to a lot of trouble to get the triple tree offsets just right to give good rake & trail numbers, adding 7 degrees to that will not enhance it any! You have a long bike now (wheelbase), do you really want it to be any longer?

Also, you would probably have to lower the rear, as the extra rake would lower the front end, unless you increased the length of the forks. I added the 6 degree triple trees to my Warrior, took them off a week later as the handling was badly affected.

Follow these links for more info:

http://www.performanceoiltechnology.com/rake_and_trail.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bicycle_and_motorcycle_geometry

http://www.streetchopperweb.com/tech/0109stc_correcting_motorcycle_trail/index.html

Cheers,

Scooter

·
Registered
123 Posts
desertraider said:
Mortons has extended their bike out 7degrees and they told me that it actually handles better!
Do a little research (use the rake/trail links in an earlier post) and do the maths, it doesn't add up.

Maybe in a straight line: a longer bike is more stable at speed in a straight line, but the turniing arc is bigger, so the ability to change direction quickly is reduced.

Actually many riders on the Warrior forums claim the Warrior handling isn't affected by the additional rake from the triple trees (6 degrees), but myself and other experienced riders rode my Warrior along the same twisties with and without the additional rake, and it always faired better with the standard rake and trail.

Riding style, familiarity with your ride and how big your nuts are have to be considered too...but steering geometry is pretty well documented.