MBF Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I happened across this forum when searching for the skinny on vertical mount license plates. Quite informative indeed:

Good Day Folks,

Well I am upset once again, I was pulled over last night on my way home from work in front of the "Iron Horse Saloon" in Ormond Beach were I live. The Sherriff came up to me and said sir do you know why I pulled you over(while his hand was over his piece, he seemed very nervous and young). I responded to him "No sir", as he started to explain the NEW Florida law about vertical side mounted license plate brackets are now ILLEGAL in the Great State of FLORIDA. I am a Lead Harley Davidson Technician for the worlds largest aftermarket motorcycle supply company, and did not know this, so I started to get smooth with him, explaining my case, and if he could provide me with the actual statute in writing so I can post this in our store for the customers to see. However after a few minutes pleading my case he let me out with" Son I will be coming to your store tomorrow to bring it to you, have a great evening" so I thanked him and proceed to the nearest watering hole!

So to all you Bikers & motorcycle enthusiasts out there you better change it if your running one!

Ok Just got home from work! Guess who was parked next to my scoot after I got off work, YUP the Volusia county Sherrif's Department, with 1 Squad car. I was Surprised, actually quite impressed, because not a lot of people keep there word anymore. He did just as he said he would and I told the officer I appreciated it.

OK This is the deal:
Display of vehicle License Plates