MBF Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First and foremost, hello everyone. I am kind of new to the cruiser scene. I am 26 and have been riding sportbikes for about 100k miles so far. I owned a Yamaha V-Star Custom 650 once and sold it after 900miles. I now own a 2008 Raven Raider. I loved the Raider and the Warrior but chose the Raider due to the custom look. One thing I loved about the Warrior was the tach...and being a sportbike enthusiast, I wish the Raider came with one. I found this and was wondering a couple of things.

1. Would something like this work for the raider?
2. If yes, what is the Raiders maximum RPM, and Redline?
3. And what do you guys think of this product?

Thanks for the help guys and have a good one.
Jason,
aka: Mindiraser

·
Registered
220 Posts
I was considering making my own tach... well... really not a tach - more or less 2 LED's - 1 amber and 1 red - they should be pretty bright. This won't tell you your exact RPM tho.

Here's the idea - when you're done modding the bike with pipes, etc.... have the sucker dyno tuned - using the results - you'll be able to see 2 things..

1) What RPM you're baning out the most torque - this is your launch RPM - Amber light.
2) What RPM you reach maximum horsepower before dropoff - this is your shift RPM - Red Light.

When the amber light is on - you're in maximum torque range - when the Red light hits - SHIFT.

This way... you know when you're in your ground-pounding RPM band.

This can even work with 3 lights - you can use Green as the torque, red as shift and amber as a mid-point - just so you know when you're half-way through your curve.

The idea is to use a module similar to the ones used in shift lights - not actual tachometers. You can buy just the stand-alone shift lights and use the CPU inside as the controller for sending the signal to the light - which you can then mount anywhere you please.